I am a reasonable guy trying to maintain a family and my websites as best I can as they are my hobby (the websites not my family).

So you guys paid writers to post poor stuff on my site that now you want to clean up. And as a mild threat at the end say that google will penalise my site. Can you see where this might make me more than a little annoyed ? So I am spending time to satisfy your commercial interest after having paid me nothing ?

> Date: Thu, 6 Feb 2014 11:55:34 +0000
> To:hobbyistwebmaster@hotmail.com
> From: editor@tripadvisor.com
> Subject: link removal
>
> This is an enquiry email via http://www.tripadvisor.com/ from:
> XXXX
>
> Hello,
> My name is XXXXX … and I am responsible for the website http://tripadvisor.com/you-blog/style-blogs/..etc
> The reason why I am contacting you is the content of the links from the following website that points towards mylighting.co.uk:
> [Insert Link]
> I would like to thank you very much for writing about our company but at the same time ask you to add a rel=”nofollow” attribute or eliminate the link.
> I would also like to clarify that you are not the only person that we contact and we just want to make sure that our website’s reliability will not be decreased due to the new Google Penguin updates.
> Please get in touch as soon as possible to confirm that you received the email and removed the link. The alternative solution for us would be to send a Disavow Link report to Google which is something that would also decrease your rankings.
> Thank you for the understanding.
I proffer an alternative solution : (The alternative solution for us would be …) how about you pay me to remove the link as suggested rather than the threat or go grovel to the faceless google monster.
