I have the impression that google doesn’t want sites like http://landed.at around. That’s another story though.
This story concerns the same site and why did it fall out of favour with google ?
There is some great original content on the page for example an example of travel to cuba that I made myself and wrote a six page content piece on. This used to rank very high for cuba backpacking. This is not thin content. Interestingly on page one for ‘cuba backpacking is http://travels.kilroy.eu/destinations/caribbean/cuba – which doesn’t contain anywhere near the same amount of information nor material so in my biased opinion (but accurate in fact) view google isn’t delivering the best in this case. Now I of course do appreciate the problem of spammers and spend time like many webmasters and programmers dealing with them on a daily basis – trying to get rid of it. But I resent getting caught up in ‘their web’ if thats what we are talking about.
Since the new panda updates the whole site has dropped down to off the scale and only the domain ranks. It is thought as no one can know for sure why this has happened that it is the thin pages being seen as spam and will bring the whole domain down ‘cuba packpacking page’ and all.

Also I am suggested that the site is penalised due to the name being a ‘vanity url‘ – not unlike the idea behind del.icio.us now delicious.com
You see google doesn’t want to show domains that are Austrian (.at) on pages that are not for non Austrians.
So this can be seen in google webmaster tools where you cannot opt out of this being a non Austrian based website now.

Onto the thin content issue
What is thin content ? Well I reason that its convenient if I am looking into the destination of hong kong that I can quickly be shown a list of hong kong hotels. EVEN if the descriptions are repeated on other sites why this is so bad is that google hates duplication. So in the real world we find this convenient but in the google sphere this has no place. So not only do you find hotels hostels and apartments you also are able to quickly see what to do in a particular location which links to an affiliate relationship with viator the big online tour company.

Can one as a webmaster or SEO expert (laughs – as I’m not) denote that a page is known as being thin -or a duplicate – so for example discount my page from having any value for search engine purposes (gaming google)(though it does for the readers). Listen google (no one listening folks!) I’m not trying to game you. I’m just a guy who once loved travel and got into web design and wanted to marry the two and get a decent site I can be proud of online. Where is the bad ?
So there are not enough links pointing to the site then I hear you say and on the other hand you dont want to have a ‘link trade’ going on.

